SPRU - Science Policy Research Unit

South Asia Sustainability Hub launched

A new regional Sustainability Hub has been launched in New Delhi, India. The Hub joins five other hubs around the world in the Pathways to Sustainability Global Consortium, convened by the STEPS Centre, which is jointly run by SPRU and the Institute of Development Studies.  The consortium aims to link up research and action on environmental and social change around the world.

At the inaugural event of the South Asia Sustainability Hub & Knowledge Network (SASH&KN) on 28 January, researchers from both India and the UK argued that more dialogue between citizens and politicians is needed to deal with the impacts of climate change and rapid urbanisation in India.

Speakers at the event included the renowned environmental journalist Palagummi Sainath, the writer and environmentalist Sunita Narain, Professor Ian Scoones, Director of the STEPS Centre and Professor Fiona Marshall from SPRU, who leads a project on Indian urban development and ecosystems: Risks and Responses to Urban Futures.

“People in cities all over South Asia are creating ideas for how to deal with waste or use water differently,” said Fiona Marshall. “Listening to these alternatives is a crucial step towards healthier, more sustainable cities.”

The launch is part of a week-long programme of events which include a workshop on climate change and uncertainty, as well as a conference on sustainable urbanisation and a policy-focused workshop on risks and responses to urban futures, which are both linked to the research project.

The South Asia Sustainability Hub & Knowledge Network (SASH&KN) aims to develop a growing network of institutions and people committed to exploring pathways to sustainability in South Asia which could help to improve people’s lives by sharing skills, ideas and innovative ways of working together, as well as including vulnerable groups in the planning process.




*flickr photo by DFID - UK Department for International Development shared under a Creative Commons (BY-NC-ND) license