SPRU - Science Policy Research Unit

Prof. Wilsdon made Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences

Professor James Wilsdon, Professor of Science and Democracy is among 33 “leading social scientists” who have been made Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences.

Professor Wilsdon is a broad-ranging social scientist, with a particular interest in multidisciplinary applications in public and social policy making. He is Chair of the Academy’s Campaign for Social Science.

The Academy of Social Sciences has around 1,000 individual Fellows, who are distinguished scholars and practitioners from academia and the public and private sectors.

They are awarded Fellowship status after peer group review of the standing and impact of their work and evaluation of their contribution to wider social science. Fellows are entitled to use the post-nominal letters ‘FAcSS’.

New Fellows are welcomed and awarded their certificates by the President or Chair of the Academy at the AGM each summer and at the President’s Lunch each winter, which provide opportunities for them to meet other Fellows.

Professor Wilsdon joins Sussex professors Suzy Braye (Social Work), Andy Field (Psychology), Valerie Hey (Education), Keith Lewin (Education), Louise Morley (Education), Elaine Sharland (Social Work), Imogen Taylor (Social Work) and Paul Webb (Politics) as members of the organisation, which was established in 1999 to promote excellence in, and encourage the advancement of, the social sciences in the UK.