School of Education and Social Work

People and contacts

Head of School

Professor Gillian Hampden-Thompson: Room X1.07, Essex House 
T +44 (0)1273 872729
E eswhos@sussex.ac.uk

Head of School Coordinator

Najat Zaari: Essex House Room X1.06, Essex House
T +44 (0)1273 872729
E hosc@esw.sussex.ac.uk

Heads of Department

Department of Education
Professor Simon Thompson: Room 254, Essex House 
T +44 (0)1273 872502
E S.J.Thompson@sussex.ac.uk

Department of Social Work & Social Care
Dr Russell Whiting: Room 222, Essex House 
T +44 (0)1273 877656
E R.Whiting@sussex.ac.uk

Academic Officers

Dr Robert Rosenthal: Director of Teaching and Learning
T +44 (0)1273 678013
E: R.D.Rosenthal@sussex.ac.uk

Professors Gillian Hampden-Thompson, Janet Boddy & Rachel Thomson: Director of Research and Knowledge Exchange (shared role)
T +44 (0)1273 872729 / T +44 (0)1273 872768 / T +44 (0)1273 876689
eswhos@sussex.ac.uk / E J.M.boddy@sussex.ac.uk E R.Thomson@sussex.ac.uk

Dr Jacqui Shepherd: Director of Student Experience
T +44 (0)1273 876508
E J.Shepherd@sussex.ac.uk

Professor Charles Watters: Director of Doctoral Studies
T +44 (0)1273 873364
E C.Watters@sussex.ac.uk

Jacqueline Young: Director of Recruitment and Admissions
T +44 (0)1273 678436
E Jacqueline.Young@sussex.ac.uk

Jo Tregenza: Director of Initial Teacher Education (ITE)
T +44 (0)1273 877756
E J.Tregenza@sussex.ac.uk

Dr Tamsin Hinton-Smith: Equality & Diversity Officer
T +44 (0)1273 877913
E J.T.Hinton-Smith@sussex.ac.uk

School Administrator

Ana Pereira: Room 109, Essex House
T +44 (0)1273 678255
E A.Pereira@sussex.ac.uk

Research and Enterprise Co-ordinator + Research Impact Officer

Deeptima Massey: Room 110, Essex House
T +44 (0)1273 678464
E eswpgradmin@sussex.ac.uk

Academic Lead: Impact

Dr Kristine (Kristi) Hickle: Room 212, Essex House
T +44 (0)1273 876741
E K.Hickle@sussex.ac.uk

Curriculum and Assessment Officer

Shaun Billing
T +44 (0)1273 872870
E S.A.Billing@sussex.ac.uk

Communications and Partnership Officer

Heather Stanley: Room 122, Essex House
T +44 (0)1273 678493
E H.Stanley@sussex.ac.uk

Project Coordinators

Tammy McCann: Essex House EH 111 (Mondays & Wednesdays)
T +44 (0)1273 678869
E T.L.Mccann@sussex.ac.uk

Josey Wilkin: Essex House EH 111
T +44 (0)1273 678869
E Josey.Wilkin@sussex.ac.uk

Technicians

Paula Burr: Senior Technician, Arundel 406
T +44 (0)1273 876579
E P.A.Burr@sussex.ac.uk

Joe Rodway: Science Technician, Arundel 406
T +44 (0)1273 876579
E J.Rodway@sussex.ac.uk

Senior Course Coordinator

Greg Harris: Room 04, Education Office 1, Essex House
T +44 (0)1273 873238
E G.Harris@sussex.ac.uk

Course Coordinators (UG and Masters students)

Education

Julie Bailey: Room 01/02, Social Work Office, Essex House
T +44 (0)1273 873870
jb694@sussex.ac.uk

Ariba (A-Jay) Fatima: Room 04, Education Office 1, Essex House
T +44 (0)1273 877596
E A.Fatima@sussex.ac.uk

Daniel Hobbs: Room 04, Education Office 1, Essex House
T +44 (0)1273 873238
E D.Hobbs@sussex.ac.uk

David Morris: Room 04, Education Office 1, Essex House
T +44 (0)1273 678447
E D.Morris@sussex.ac.uk

Clare Stevens: Room 111, Essex House
T +44 (0)1273 678405
E C.Stevens@sussex.ac.uk

Adam Stewart: Room 04, Education Office 1, Essex House
T
E ams56@sussex.ac.uk

Graham Wright: Room 111, Essex House
T +44 (0)1273 873945
E gw277@sussex.ac.uk

Social Work and Social Care

Lisa Williams: Room 01/02, Social Work Office, Essex House
T +44 (0)1273 678528
E L.M.Williams@sussex.ac.uk

Kathy King: Room 01/02, Social Work Office, Essex House
T +44 (0)1273 872 595
E K.A.King@sussex.ac.uk

Susana Vazquez, Room 01/02, Social Work Office, Essex House
T +44 (0)1273 872733
E S.Vazquez@sussex.ac.uk / pqcoord@sussex.ac.uk

Clerical Assistants

Carol Brailsford: Room 111, Essex House (part-time)
T
E C.Brailsford@sussex.ac.uk / eswpgradmin@sussex.ac.uk

Denise Hassany: Essex House Reception (Weds-Fri)
T +44 (0)1273 877 888
D.Hassany@sussex.ac.uk

Benjamin Robinson: Essex House Reception (full time)
T +44 (0)1273 877 888
E bjr26sussex.ac.uk