Broadcast: News items

2020 Winners of Research Excellence Awards Announced

Six emerging scholars from the Business School have received Research Excellence Awards in recognition of their research excellence, awarded at this year’s Business School Research Away Day.

The winners of the awards are:

Dr Hugo Confraria

Dr Martin Schleper

Dr Achilleas Boukis

Dr Galina Goncharenko

Dr Pawel Dziewulski

Dr Sam Roscoe

The Business School launched the Research Excellence Awards for Emerging Scholars last year. The awards are granted on the basis of the overall research achievement of the individual on three dimensions – a) Published (or accepted) research work, b) Research grants awarded and c) Research impact. Awards can be granted based on excellence in a single dimension or significant achievement across two or more.

Their awards were well deserved and were made in recognition of their outstanding efforts in producing high quality research papers, pursuing funding opportunities, and engaging external stakeholders. All winners have been highly research active, demonstrating clear evidence of exceptional research quality and impressive engagement in a number of areas. Congratulations to all!

The awards were presented by Professor Steve McGuire, Dean of the Business School, and Professor Blome at the Business School Research Away Day on Thursday 23rd January 2020.

Professor McGuire said ‘I thought the Research Away Day was excellent. It was an occasion where the sheer range, novelty and salience of what we do was on show. The energy and enthusiasm for research was evident.’

The away day consisted of an introduction from the Dean Steve McGuire, followed by research updates from Constantin Blome, Director of Research and Knowledge Exchange. Jeremy Hall, Director of SPRU, gave the keynote ‘Perspectives on Research in the New Decade’, followed by individual presentations from each of the research mobiliser groups. There was also a stream of parallel sessions on topics ranging from policy engagement and impact, learning from failure, and the enhancement of doctoral programmes.

By: Elizabeth Kellingley
Last updated: Friday, 31 January 2020