Broadcast: News items

Voting in the UK's European elections

The UK will be holding European parliamentary elections next Thursday (23 May).

Who can vote in the EU elections?

To vote in Thursday’s election you must be registered to vote; you must be 18 or over on 23 May; and you must be a British, Irish, or qualifying Commonwealth citizen, or a citizen of an EU country.

You have to be either resident at an address in the UK, and not be legally excluded from voting – or be a British citizen living abroad, in which case you can vote in European elections for up to 15 years after you have left the country.

How do European parliamentary elections work?

The UK elects 73 members (MEPs) to the European parliament, which is made up of 751 MEPs elected by the 28 member states of the EU. The UK is split into 12 European electoral regions, and each region is represented by between three and 10 MEPs.

The local constituency is South East England (10 MEPs). Find out who is standing for election.

Voters can choose to vote for one party or individual. The D’Hondt method of proportional representation is used to calculate how many seats each party or individual receives. MEPs are then elected from closed lists of candidates supplied by the parties.

Those elected as MEPs on 23 May will represent the UK when the new European parliament assembles on 1 July, until the UK ceases to be a member of the European Union.

Posted on behalf of: University of Sussex
Last updated: Friday, 17 May 2019


If you'd like to leave a comment, enter your ITS username, password, and your comment. The comment may need approval before it is displayed, so don't expect your comment to appear right away.

By submitting a comment you are agreeing to the Acceptable Use Policy.