Broadcast: News items

University of Sussex’s third Vice-Chancellor Sir Denys Wilkinson passes away on 22 April 2016

(Left-to-right) Vice-Chancellors Lord (Asa) Briggs, Sir Denys Wilkinson, Sir Leslie Fielding, Professor Gordon Conway, Professor Alasdair Smith and, current VC, Professor Michael Farthing, with a portrait of Sussex's seven VCs

Paying tribute to Sir Denys Wilkinson - who served as the University’s third Vice-Chancellor from 1976 to 1987 - Vice-Chancellor, Professor Michael Farthing, said:

“I was saddened to hear the news of Sir Denys passing, and wish to extend my condolences and best wishes to his family. As Vice-Chancellor of the University of Sussex for more than ten years, he is part of our shared history, having made an enormous contribution to the University that is flourishing so much today.

"As a nuclear physicist with a tremendously impressive list of achievements he has undoubtedly inspired so many of today’s scientists. We hope he felt proud of the number of students who are coming to Sussex to study physics today.”

Sir Denys was the third Vice-Chancellor of the University, following Lord Briggs and preceding Sir Leslie Fielding. 

In 2012, a unique opportunity arose as part of the University’s 50th anniversary year to unveil a portrait of all of the University’s Vice-Chancellors, which can be seen in the Library.

Sussex has had seven Vice-Chancellors, who are all depicted in the painting: 

  • Lord (John) Fulton (who held the position from 1961 to 1967)
  • Lord (Asa) Briggs (1967–76)
  • Sir Denys Wilkinson (1976–87)
  • Sir Leslie Fielding (1987–92)
  • Professor Gordon Conway (1992–98)
  • Professor Alasdair Smith (1998–2007)
  • Professor Michael Farthing (2007–Present)

Posted on behalf of: University of Sussex
Last updated: Thursday, 28 April 2016


If you'd like to leave a comment, enter your ITS username, password, and your comment. The comment may need approval before it is displayed, so don't expect your comment to appear right away.

By submitting a comment you are agreeing to the Acceptable Use Policy.